BTRDA Rally Series 2016 – Calendar

The organisers of the BTRDA Rally Series are very pleased to confirm the 2016 calendar* for both the RAVENOL BTRDA Rally Series and the MSA English Rally Championship. (*subject to MSA approval)

The RAVENOL BTRDA Rally Series, which includes the 63rd Gold Star and Silver Star Rally Championships plus the BTRDA 1400 and Rally First Championships and the BTRDA Historic Cup and MG ZR Challenge, will continue to provide the very best selection of popular one day forest rallies.

In a change to the calendar, the Cambrian Rally in North Wales becomes the opening round of the 2016 RAVENOL BTRDA Rally Series in mid-February with the Trackrod Forest Stages hosting the final round in North Yorkshire on 1st October.

2016 Calendar (best 6 scores from 8 events to count)

  • Cambrian Rally 13th February North Wales, Llandudno
  • Malcolm Wilson Rally [E] 12th March Lake District, Cockermouth
  • Somerset Stages [E] 16th April West Somerset, Minehead
  • Plains Rally 14th May West Wales, Welshpool
  • Carlisle Stages [E] 11th June Kielder, Longtown
  • Nicky Grist Stages 9th July Mid Wales, Builth Wells
  • Woodpecker Stages [E] 3rd September Shropshire/Welsh Border, Ludlow
  • Trackrod Forest Stages [E] 1st October North Yorkshire, Pickering

JLT Tempest 2 Rally [E only] 5th November Hampshire/Berkshire, Aldershot

[E] = MSA English Rally Championship Rounds

The BTRDA Rally Series Co-ordinator Howard Wilcock said, “We are grateful for the wholehearted support from the event organising teams because without their efforts we could not promote such a successful rally championship. Details of all the classes, categories and incentives plus the TV coverage will be confirmed over the next couple of months, but competitors can be assured that the BTRDA Rally Series will continue to be open to all competitors / cars who want to go forest rallying”.

The REIS-RAVENOL BTRDA Rally Series has attracted more than 400 competitor registrations in 2015 and is consistently the most popular rally championship in the UK. It aims to provide competitors, marshals and followers with some Serious Fun!

The MSA ENGLISH RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP which runs alongside the BTRDA Rally Series on many events is exclusively for two wheel drive cars up to 2 litres and is an ideal forest rally championship for crews on a limited budget. The Championship is contested over 6 classic English forest stage rallies (best 5 scores) and has a ‘class based’ format so that competitors from any of the 5 classes have an equal chance of becoming the MSA English Rally Champion.

The BTRDA Rally Series and the National Asphalt Championship are finalising the calendar for the mixed surface BTRDA Rally Challenge and there will be a separate announcement about that in September.

Regulations for all the 2016 Rally Championships will be available in November.

Photo is Charlie Payne/Carl Williamson on the Carlisle Stages. Courtesy of Ralliphotoswales