Charlie is the Gold Star Champion in 2016

Congratulations to Charlie Payne on winning the 2016 RAVENOL BTRDA Gold Star Championship.  He is the 63rd Gold Star Champion Driver and joins a long list of rally champions going back to 1954!   BTRDA Rally Champions

Maximum scores on the Malcolm Wilson Rally and the Carlisle Stages were the basis for the championship title which were combined with four other great results to create an unbeatable total of 170 points.  As we know the main challenge throughout the season came from Luke Francis / John Roberts but their ‘off’ and subsequent retirement on the Woodpecker meant they simply ran out of events.

Other title winners on the Woodpecker were Cameron Davies and Lee Taylor who were the winners of the Fiesta ST Trophy. Cameron also wins a place in the D-Mack End of Season Shoot Out which is an opportunity he deserves.

Finally the BTRDA Historic Cup was won by Robin Shuttleworth and Ron Roughead in the Mk 1 Escort.  Six starts and six finishes is hard to beat and it means they deservedly get their hands on the famous AC de Monaco Trophy at the end of season awards presentation.

Competition for the RAVENOL Silver Star, Thomas Panels 1400 and Vital Equipment Rally First Championship titles plus the BTRDA Production Cup will resume on the Trackrod Forest Stages. Good luck to everyone.

Photo is Charlie Payne / Carl Williamson on the Woodpecker courtesy of ralliphotoswales.