Following the enforced curtailment of the MRF Tyres BTRDA Rally Series and Motorsport UK 2020 English Rally Championship in association with Seacon, we now look forward to the 2021 season with renewed vigour and are pleased to announce a well-spaced calendar of events that runs from mid-February until the end of September. The BTRDA Rally Series maintains its position as the UK’s most popular Rally Championship, catering for any vehicle complying with current Motorsport UK Technical Regulations.

The comprehensive class structure, that has proved so popular in the past, is maintained with the BTRDA Gold Star® Championship (Overall), BTRDA Silver Star® Championship (Two-Wheel Drive) and BTRDA 1400 Championship (for which the overall winners will receive BTRDA Bronze Stars) are augmented by the BTRDA Rallye R5 Cup, BTRDA Rallye R2 Cup and the BTRDA Historic Cup. The BTRDA Rally First Championship, for which eligible vehicles are only allowed minimal modifications to their original specification (except when it comes to safety!), is viewed as both an excellent entry-level series and an ideal way for those reacquainting themselves with the sport to compete.

For its 68th year of ‘Serious Fun!’, the BTRDA Rally Series calendar encompasses eight of the best UK forest events and, in order to give competitors extra choice, everyone’s five best scores will count towards their final tally. The organisers of the Scottish Rally have kindly agreed to act as a reserve event, should one of the early rounds be unable to run.

The Provisional* 2021 calendar is as follows :

    • 20th February     Cambrian Rally / Llandudno
    • 13th March     Malcolm Wilson Rally / Dovenby
    • 17th April     Rallynuts Stages / Royal Welsh Showground
    • 22nd May     Plains Rally / TBC
    • 19th June     Kielder Stages / Kielder
    • 10th July     Nicky Grist Stages  /Builth Wells
    • 4th September     Woodpecker Stages / Ludlow
    • 25th September     Trackrod Forest Stages / Filey

Reserve Event:    24th July     Scottish Rally / Lockerbie

* Subject to Motorsport UK approval and any further restrictions imposed as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic.

As previously announced, all 2020 BTRDA Rally Series competitor registrations will be carried over into 2021 and BTRDA Membership will be held at £30.00 per person for a further year. Registrations for the 2021 MRF Tyres BTRDA Rally Series will be available in early December via : www.btrdarally.com/competitors
For further details, contact Ian Arden – Tel : 07917 355169 / E-mail: ian@btrdarally.com

The main image is of Tony Simpson and Ian Bevan (Fiesta R2) on the Malcolm Wilson Rally.

– ENDS –