Having been title sponsor of the BTRDA-permitted MSUK Asphalt Rally Championship since 2018, Protyre is confirmed as taking on a similar role with the forestry-based BTRDA Rally Series. The arrangement is currently for two years with scope for an extension at the conclusion of the initial period.
PROTYRE is the UK’s fastest growing chain of fast-fit and mechanical centres. Supplying a complete range of tyres for all makes and models of cars, vans, 4x4s and motorcycles, Protyre also offer MOTs, mechanical repairs and servicing. Protyre’s Motorsport Division provides tyres and tyre-fitting services for a number of races and rallies.

‘The BTRDA Rallies Committee is delighted to welcome Protyre as its title sponsor for the 2024 BTRDA Rally Series’, said Committee Chair Neil Cross, ‘and looks forward to working with them to bring you some of the best gravel rallying in the UK. Their support ensures that we can continue our hugely popular live streaming of all rounds of the Championship’.

The featured image is Callum Black (Fiesta Rally2) – the 2023 Protyre MSUK Asphalt Rally Champion & regular BTRDA Rally Series Competitor.  Here winning the Woodpecker in 2022.

The 2024 PROTYRE BTRDA Rally Series calendar includes eight of the finest UK gravel events, (best 6 scores to count) details of which are outlined below : –

  • MALCOLM WILSON RALLY      8th/9th MARCH      Cockermouth / Lake District
  • RALLYNUTS SEVERN VALLEY STAGES      13th APRIL      Llandindrod Wells / Mid Wales
  • BORDER COUNTIES RALLY      11th MAY      Jedburgh / Tweed Valley
  • KIELDER FOREST RALLY      15th JUNE      Hexham / Northumberland
  • NICKY GRIST STAGES      13th JULY      Builth Wells / Mid Wales
  • WOODPECKER STAGES      7th SEPTEMBER      Newtown / Powys
  • TRACKROD FOREST STAGES      28th SEPTEMBER      Filey / Yorkshire Forests
  • Visit Conwy CAMBRIAN RALLY      26th OCTOBER      Llandudno / North Wales

The regulaions for both the PROTYRE BTRDA Rally Series and the Reis Motorsport Insurance MSUK English Rally Championship have now been published in the Competitor sections of the respective websites and on-line Championship registrations are now open for 2024. (see below)

The 2024 PROTYRE BTRDA Rally Series will continue to include competion classes to suit all types of stage rally car.   The classses are: –

  • Class RF1.4 BTRDA Rally First cars up to 1400cc or with forced induction up to 1,000cc.
  • Class RF2.0 BTRDA Rally First cars over 1400cc up to 2000cc or forced induction up to 1300cc.
  • Class 1400S All cars up to 1400cc not eligible for Class 1400C or Class RF1.4.
  • Class 1400C Cars up to 1400cc with: –   [a] 8 valve engines, [b] Engines with more than 8 valves that retain the standard fuel and inlet manifold systems, [c] Engines up to 1000cc not eligible for Class RF1.4.    Remote reservoir suspension and sequential gearboxes are not permitted unless fitted as standard or homologated.
  • Class R2 Current and former FIA R2(B) cars (but not FIA spec Rally4 cars)
  • Class B10 Cars over 1400cc up to 1600cc plus current & former FIA Group N3 cars and ST Trophy cars.
  • Class B11 Over 1600cc up to 2000cc or with forced induction engines up to 1300cc plus any FIA Rally4 cars
  • Class B12 Over 2000cc two-wheel drive, including all FIA R3T cars.
  • Class B13 Over 2000cc four-wheel drive cars not eligible for Class B14 including FIA Rally3 cars.
  • Class B14 Current and former FIA Rally2, R5 and S2000 specification cars and any derivatives therefrom, plus World Rally cars with a sequential gearbox.
    All forced induction engines are subject to an additional capacity coefficient of 1.7 to 1, except as set out in Classes RF1.0, RF2.0 and Class B11 or where FIA Appendix J, Art 260 applies.
  • Reis Motorsport Insurance BTRDA HISTORIC CUP
    The BTRDA Historic Cup is open to all Historic Category 1, 2, 3 & 4 rally cars that comply with the eligibility requirements set out in R49 of the Motorsport UK Yearbook. The overall Reis Motorsport Insurance BTRDA Historic Champion will be presented with the prestigious AC de Monaco Trophy at the end-of-year BTRDA awards ceremony.
    The Historic Cup will be split into 2 classes: –
    Class H1/2 Historic Category 1 and 2 cars, Category 3 cars with single cam engines and Category 4a up to 1600cc.
    Class H3/4 Historic Category 3 cars with multi cam engines plus Category 4a cars over 1600cc and all Category 4b cars which comply with R49.1.5

On-line Registration:  BTRDA annual membership is £30 which gives automatic eligibility to all BTRDA Rally Series and English Rally Championship events. The PROTYRE BTRDA Rally Series registration fee also includes registration for the Reis Motorsport Insurance MSUK 2024 English Rally Championship and is £50 for Drivers and £20 for Co-drivers,

BTRDA membership and Rally Championship registration is again FREE to new BTRDA members under the age of 25 on 1st Jan 2024 for their first year of registration.

Log in to the membership website  If you have forgotten any of your login details, just follow the on-screen instructions. If you have not been a member before you will need to register a new account.  In all cases the first part of the process is to join BTRDA (British Trial & Rally Driver Association) and then register for the ‘forest rally championship’.

The Malcolm Wilson Rally (8th / 9th March) is the opening round of both championship, and at the time of writing over 60 entries have been recieved by the organisers, which is a very encouraging start.

Photos courtesy of Kevin Money / Malcolm Almond.